Dear Praying Friends,

I hope that this letter finds all of you doing well. Zambia has become my home, and my home is doing well.

In my attempt to discover what the last thing I related to you, I was astonished to find that the last time I wrote was in July 2015. I am hoping that most of you were able to get a verbal update from me when I was home in December, but I know that is not true for all of you. It seems like all I do is apologize for not communicating enough, so I will attempt to spare you this time.

From my last letter, and also from my trip home in December, the fact that July 2016 and my 3 year commitment coming to end are both approaching rapidly is obviously something that has been on my heart and mind. I would like to share with you the decision that I have made after much prayer and wise counsel. I have decided to leave Zambia and return to America. I must admit that even writing those words are difficult for me.

I have never been more at home in Zambia, counting as family the people who are surrounding me. The clinic is moving on well, with more activity, and a desperate need for more staff and assistance to accommodate the growth. I have a beautiful apartment and a vehicle that works well. There is solar power at my apartment which means that I have never run out of electricity. The instances are few when water has been unavailable. And so, with all those things, sometimes it comes as a shock to me that I am choosing to leave.

It was neither a decision I made quickly nor lightly. I realize very much that my departure from Zambia will leave a gap not only for the clinic and the Bible college, but also leave a huge gap in my life. I have realized that there is never a good time to leave something that you love. I know that God will provide for any need that arises from my departure. Please be praying with me for the right person or people to replace me at the clinic, as well as for my adjustment to life in America.

The last almost 3 years have brought to my attention not only some of my weaknesses, but also things that I would like to accomplish in my life. One thing that I have noticed in Zambia, is that education is incredibly important. I would like to be able to teach someday, and I currently have an Associate degree that needs to be upgraded to a Master’s Degree. Also, as far as medicine goes, I have learned a lot from Dr. Marjie as far as diagnosing and prescribing, but truthfully my license as a Registered Nurse in America has not provided me with enough to serve the people in Zambia as much as I would like to. Returning to school would allow me the opportunity to earn a Nurse Practitioner’s Degree that would also be a Master’s Degree, allowing me to operate in a larger clinical capacity as well as teach.

Lord willing, I will be returning to America, where I will be returning to school for the next 4 years, with the intent of increasing my education with the long-term goal of returning to the mission field in Africa. Without any doubts in my heart, I have fallen in love with the people who I have been able to serve here, and I hope to have the same opportunity in the future. I do hope to return to Zambia in the next 4 years on short visits to help as I am able.

I cannot thank each of you enough for the important part you have been in my time here in Zambia, and also for the continued interaction I will be able to have as I return to America. None of what has been happening here in Zambia would have been possible without you. I am forever grateful for the experiences I have had here and would not trade them for the world. Thank you so very much.

I would greatly appreciate your prayers for the change that is coming soon. Please pray for the clinic as I leave, that the right people will fill the right spots as the growth continues. Pray for me as I return to America and the inevitable culture shock that it will bring. Pray that I will finish my time here in Zambia well, loving the people so that God may be glorified.

Once again, beyond words, thank you for your support and continued prayers.

God Bless,

Kristi

Isaiah 43:19

 

Behold, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs forth; do you not perceive and know it and will you not give heed to it? I will even make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.

 

 

